Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

A tight fit!

A few days ago I blipped about this house being moved. Yesterday morning they started the actual move - I drove by on my way to my choir retreat, but couldn't really see much, it looked like they hadn't started the actual move - but they sure drew a crowd! Last night on my way home, it was too dark and rainy (and I was too exhausted!) to stop and photograph, but it looked like they left the house sitting in the street!

Today it's inching toward its new location. They moved it through a bank parking lot - the bank is on the left and a small apartment building is on the right. You can see how little room there is on either side! These guys have to know what they're doing.

I've seen house moving projects that covered much longer distances - they sometimes have to take down cable and power lines and, of course, close streets. It's an expensive undertaking, but often the houses can be purchased very cheaply. The new owners of this one paid a dollar!

(Pardon the drips; photo taken through a rainy windshield.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.