In My Life...

By steeble

The Long and Winding Road

Can I first say sorry for not having a lot of time for checking others blips lately. I am hoping to catch up on you all tonight. Thank you for still checking my journal out too. Appreciate it.

This morning I decided to have a look to Beamish museum as the frost was still around. Pleased I did, there was hardly anyone around and no school visits until around half twelve so I had a couple of hours with the place virtually to myself.

Spoke to one of the volunteers as they have a Santas grotto there and he asked if I'd like a look to see what they've done. Its great... as you approach the grotto they've decorated a train and all in front of you is loads of wrapped presents stacked about 10ft high, then walk around the gifts and get to the grotto which is very festively done and is where Santa usually sits..... I however caught Santa having a break in his house sat by the coal fire, the bricks walls shadowed by coal dust and the tree all lit up. Was brilliant(big kid). The only thing I'd of changed is the Santa had a wig and fake beard... but he actually had white hair and beard underneath anyway, although his beard and hair was only a few inches long I thought it looked better natural.

On leaving the grotto I decided to have a look and see how they were getting on with building St Helens Church(originally from Eston). Took a few pictures and then asked another worker about it. I was told that they were out of funding for it at the minute and are putting all there funding into building the bakery in the village and The Band Hall from Hetton. I still took a couple of pictures as it looked so picturesque(to me anyway). Especially with the snow on the road, shame it wasn't in the fields too.

Named this blip The Long and Winding Road after the song by The Beatles.

Hope you like...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.