ChristmaSki Day 9

Today was the Helicopter Ride I had booked for my Babies Christmas present. They were all so excited!!

It was a bit of a mission to find with 2 buses and a quick trip to the Tourist Info desk but we were given a map to follow through some woods where there were some cross country skiers and lots of dog walkers in the beautiful snowy countryside.

We eventually found the Helipad right in the middle of no where and sat and waited for half an our for their ride. 

Once the children were loaded on - up they went like a flash and I became very - unexpectedly - emotional!!! There was always a little niggle in the back of my mind that I was sending all my children up in a helicopter and what if it crashed..... my whole family wiped out.... but you could say that about an aeroplane or a train so decided not to live life in caution and give them an experience they will never forget. 

The ride took half an hour (the longest half an hour of my life!) and it took them up over Mont Blanc and they came back down as fast as they went up but they all had an amazing smile on their face as they landed and so many "wow" 's ! So I'm glad I followed my head and not my heart this time!!!

Then we headed back down through the woods and back into Chamonix where we had some lunch and bought a few gifts, stopping in the Apre Ski bar before we headed home.

Everyone decided they had had enough skiing now, apart from Samuel Squidget and myself who wantt o conquer the longest Blue run in the resort on the last day, so they all took their skis back. It was a bit sad that they have decided they have had enough but we are busy tomorrow (today - back blip!) doing touristy stuff then fly home Saturday so we will only manage a 4 hour skiing slot and they would rather go shopping!!! Thats fine by me as long as they are sure!

Then in the evening, a few of us sat in the hot tub and waited for dinner to be ready which was another amazing creation by our Chalet chef and the biggest crumble you have ever seen that didn't take the boys long to Polish off!!!!

Then Mr W and I were the first to hit the sack while the others stayed up to watch Skyfall.

Another fabulous day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.