Jack Snipe

Lenses all out here at Slimbridge in the Martin Mere hide for a sighting of the Jack Snipe which had remained tantalisingly elusive yesterday for me. 

Not to be deterred, obviously, I was back again today. Sneaking a 500mm lens in the hide (on a Saturday) did prove a tad tricky but pouncing on a space - not of someone who had died but they might have with the lack of action here, I resigned myself to just trying to being there if 'it' happened. Whatever 'it' was.

Tiny - so tiny I was quite surprised really, it fed in the shallow waters in the mud. Short and sweet was the order of the day unfortunately but at least I'd got in on camera.

 Anyone wondering what the difference is between an ordinary snipe and a Jack snipe is - well it seems it's the length of bill mostly with a shorter bill on the Jack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.