Face to Face: A Tale of Two Tabbies

I've mentioned that there is a little gray tabby in our neighborhood who has a serious crush on my husband. The kitty sometimes shows up first thing in the morning and spends much of his day with us, playing in the yard, or napping in a chair in which my husband arranges blankets for him on the front porch.

On this morning, I opened the front door around seven a.m. and there he was! I said good morning, gave him a few pets hello. He stretched out his paws to greet me. I found him to be toasty warm; he had clearly NOT spent the night outside. He had a bit of snow on his fur.

On most mornings, I get up earlier than my husband. Dexter and I get to hang out together for a little while (doing important things like "second breakfast") before my husband gets up. So there was no husband available to greet the little visitor at this time.

The little tabby has learned that if he comes around the side of the house to the back, he can look in the deck door windows to see if we are home. And of course, that's just what he did. I heard a bit of a kerfuffle by the deck doors, and there was Dexter, eye to eye with the little gray tabby!

The soundtrack song is one I've used before, but it suits this image. So here it is again: Pete Townshend, with Face the Face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.