Winning Entry

If ever there was a warning for the shepherds this morning in the coloured sky at daybreak, then this was the one.; no dubiety about it, the rain or snow was on the way.
No sooner had the brilliant reds, pinks and oranges disappeared, than the sky turned grey and the day dreich and damp.

But the weather was of little concern today as his Lordship and I were enjoying a festive Christmas lunch with our fellow cyclists in the unlikely surroundings of a golf club. Not too many cyclists that we know have any time to play golf as well fitting in miles of pedalling.

Every year there is a quaich presented to the person who has done most for the club in the preceding year and also a plaque presented to the best cycling photo of the year.
This was the photo that I took at the CTC picnic in France this year and which won the plaque.
Embarrassingly enough, the 2nd and 3rd prizes were also my photos, which I magnanimously stood down, and so to avoid having to do any more, I was asked politely to remove the rest of my photos from the competition to allow the rest to be judged.

Which all goes to prove that the discipline of posting a photo a day provides an excellent supply of images, and that not many other people entered the competition.
To accompany the plaque, I was given a neck buff with the cycling map of Edinburgh printed on it. That's what I call useful.

Damn the auto correct which I didn't notice had transformed 'quaich' to quiche, but I've sorted it now. Thanks Instography for noticing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.