The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Dallam sunrise

The early morning walk with Gus over the Knott these late January days is still in darkness, though there was enough light this morning to see that the sky was clear and there was mist hugging the lower ground, and filling the Kent Estuary and even Morecambe Bay. I didn't have my camera with me then but there was time before work for a quick trip to Dallam Park to see the sun rising above the hillside and shining dimly through the fog.  This scene is naturally desaturated, I haven't tampered with the colours .  There aren't many mornings like this in a year. It heralded a beautiful winter's day, with light snow still lying away from the immediate coast, and I was skating on black ice as I walked up the road into the Park.

I used to be teased mercilessly by my colleagues in the days before we had Gus when I used to stop most mornings for a walk in Dallam Park with the camera. But it is an amazingly photogenic place. 

Posted on Thursday 24 January 2019

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.