Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Not Rolf's friends

Lazy morning, and an afternoon visit to Homebase to get an ice scraper for JR in the mornings. Well, for the car in the mornings. And some lights for me to play with. I got a nice light wand with a built in whistle, for some reason.

I then set off down to the castle in the afternoon. Because I can. It costs a fortune to go there, so I like to keep popping in to get my money's worth. Nice sunset.

I had set up my tripod on the wall overlooking the Winter Wonderland Highland Village, but it was still too light, so I was going to just wait, with my hands in my pockets lest they got too cold to press buttons.

Two young folk came along and decided that it was indeed the best spot. So we all stood, waiting. The chap had a very nice huge lens. And one of those massive Gorilla tripod thingies. I asked where they were from.

'Germany.'

'Just here for a few days?'

'Yes. We came for the Runrig concert last night.'

I knew it was a bit silly, but I blurted out,

'Are you Rolf's friends?'

'No. We do not know Rolf.'

Anyway, that's at least five Runrig fans in Germany. But they like coming to concerts here as the atmosphere is better. They are coming next year for the 40th anniversary concert. Reminder to self: Get tickets. They're also on at the Castle Esplanade in July, but we're usually away.

On the way home through the Meadows I wanted to try out my new lights. I headed into what I thought was a dark bit in the middle of the grass, but of course, it's still so light all around. I did have fun, though. I will not inflict the evening's attempts on you. More fiddling needed.

So I chose the sunset, although there was quite a bit of lens flare. It's another view of the Usher Hall from yesterday. Is this a series?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.