Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Me and Rose

This is me with my friend Rose. She comes once a week to take me for a walk. She does it for PE credit for school, but really I think she does it 'cause she likes me. We have fun on our walks, even in the rain! Rose was at my welcome party when I first came home here 3 ½ years ago. We've both grown since then!

I've had another wee abscess on my wee bum. My moms have to hold me down twice a day and put some medicine in the wound. I'm wise to the signs when it's time for a treatment and I try to hide from them, but they always find me and get the deed done, no matter how much I wriggle and squeal. I know it's for the best, it does make it better, but Oh! It hurts. And the indignity!

Speaking of indignity, you're probably going to see a photo of me soon with my new sweater on. I won't tell you much about it except it's embarrassing, but not as bad as the antlers Mom strapped on me last year. Sometimes I wonder about her.

In other news, there have been flies in the house and I've spent a lot of time chasing them! I almost caught one this morning, but it got away and I ran right into the wall! I don't think anyone saw though.

I heard my moms talk about going out tonight, which means I'll be left here to guard the house. They're going to something called "The Nutcracker" - I wonder if it's about squirrels!

I'm going to go hide now, cause I also heard them talking about giving me medicine. See ya. Promise not to laugh at me in my sweater.

---Liza Jane

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.