For fellow blipper PamelaJ

I promised to show off my camp blanket to PamelaJ explaining that in Guiding and Scouting we all had one back in the day. I’m sure many Guides still do. I stopped helping out with Guides when I moved up to Norfolk 4 years ago, but Jon is still very active in Scouting in Cromer. If he needs extra hands, he can call on me, but when it comes to an overnight camp, or a campfire evening, I’m there straight away, and I always have my camp blanket with me!

On the front, are all my guide related badges. So, either badges I gained at brownies or guides, or badges I bought at different camps. Plus my scarves. We used to camp in Kent a lot, travelling from Hertfordshire. Happy memories triggered by my camp blanket indeed. On the back are all ‘other’ badges. So those I buy on holiday, or I’m given by people. I haven’t been to all of the places I have badges for, but they still all have meaning. The long strip of light coloured blanket with multicoloured stripes is very special. It will be recognised by some old friends. It was my gymnastic ‘bars’ from Haslewood. Not many people got all 10 in my day, so I was very proud to get them all. I remember the most difficult one to get was tartan, and you had to do a ‘Long fly’ on the box, and backflip on the floor to get it. They were sewn on my first camp blanket and over the years I’ve changed blanket 3 times to my present one. With the bars it was easier to just cut out a chunk of the old blanket and sew it on the new one!

I’m developing a cold. Everyone in the office is coughing and sneezing. I hope I can stop it from taking hold too tightly. I took lunch at 11.30 and walked very quickly to Boots in Chapelfield, hoping to pick up some bargain gifts. I’ve been waiting for the 70% off sale for a few weeks. I succeeded in getting lots of nice bits. I like to think I saved £65 rather than spent £27!!

Home at 5.30 and was in Lidl by 6. Home by 7 and now plan to relax and nurse my cold this evening while Jon cooks dinner and Henry puts the shopping away.

As every Friday, I’m looking forward to a lie in tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.