Picture Consequences

By consequences

Gravity's Law

At some point, the feeling of falling became one of stillness. Without any real point of reference, it was impossible to experience feelings of movement or direction.

Before me, glowing and massive-looking, was a sphere hanging in darkness.

I felt as if I were floating - whether the sphere was above, below or in front of me I couldn't say. Because my first sensation was one of falling, part of my mind was working on that assumption, but for a long time there seemed to be no change: the sphere appeared to be the same size, and I seemed to be the same distance from it, as far as I could tell.

What struck me as remarkable was that I was able to take in the whole experience, overwhelming as it was.

After what felt like an hour, I noticed that I could see more details on the sphere: through a haze surrounding it I could make out darker spots within the overall glow.

Was it my imagination, or did it appear bigger?

Soon, the fact that I was moving towards the sphere, and at increasing speed, was inescapable.

And as it grew and grew, I opened my mouth to scream - both in terror and exhilaration, I think.

The brightness of the light, which now surrounded me entirely, was incredible. I closed my eyes...



Story begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.