Fingers Crossed

This is a sculpture outside the hospital where mom is in residence at the moment.  It's called "Fingers Crossed" a symbol of hope and longing for a good outcome from a visit to the hospital I think.  Very appropriate.

Thank you all for your words of encouragement for Mom and us.  You are very thoughtful.  I was amazed to discover this morning when the hospital phoned to ask if I knew that  Mom was having  mobility issues and that she hadn't been admitted yet because their unit had to approve admission first...  Anyway, we got that sorted out and I agreed to phone later in the day when the consultant would have been round.  She is now in the Clinical Decisions Unit under observation for an infection.  No physical causes for her to be unable to use her legs.  So she might be looking at transfer to rehabilitation or a geriatric unit as a starting point.  I have to go early to see her tomorrow as I might be able to speak to the doctor then.  I think Mom must have been given something to limit her anxiety today - she was certainly very different - quiet, spaced out?  unable to get things into her mouth... for the first hour and a half of our visit.  I was very touched to return from a trip to the shop, to find Dad trying so hard to feed her...  I have included this in extras as It means such a lot to me.

A very busy day considering I only got home at 2.30am this morning...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.