A Wave On The Ocean

By Bensholto

Back blipped.

Well I've now got a fair few back blips to sort through.....as life does that thing, where it doesn't go according to plan.

On the evening of January 23rd, 2019, I drank a whisky as I remembered a man.

Frederick Smith Clarke, born 30th June 1935, died peacefully in his sleep (albeit very unexpectedly) on 22nd January 2019, at the age of 83.

Despite being born and known as Frederick until about the age of eighteen, he then did his national service in the mid-1950s in the RAF, where he picked up the nickname Ted, and thus Frederick was known as Ted from about 1953 until the day he died, by almost everyone who knew him - his own parents, his brother and sister, yes, almost every who ever knew him.

I think the only people who knew him by a different name were me, my brother Daniel, and my youngest brother Joss.

We just knew him as Dad.

Rest in peace you old bugger. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.