Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Persimmon Tree

I thought the colors were spectacular. These trees are striking because they lose all their leaves while they are still covered in fruit. Contrasted with the vivid blue sky, the persimmons look beautiful. They are also beautiful in a bowl, but we are prevented from doing that by an infestation of fruit flies. If you leave a wine glass unattended for more than four minutes, there will be five fruit flies drowning in it the next time you pick it up! I am also reminded of genetics classes in college with their endless experiments involving blue eyed drosophila (fruit flies) and brown eyed ones. I'm afraid all I could ever do was cry "Who Cares?". Fortunately we never had to do the experiments because for the life of me I wouldn't be able to tell what color their eyes are!

We found our way to the Santa Rosa Plaza (otherwise known as the mall) today to make a donation to the firemen, who are collecting toys for kids. We decided to do this in lieu of gifts to our own kids and grandkids this year. We are blessed to have more than we need and wanted to do something for our new community. I hope the grandchildren see it this way! The firemen promised to find somebody to write a letter for us to include in our carefully chosen cards informing them of our decision.

OilMan and I also managed to hang a number of pictures together without curses or threats. This is an especially remarkable accomplishment since several of the pictures had to be hung very precisely. There are still quite a few leaning against the walls until we figure out where the furniture we don't have yet will go, but we're making progress. OilMan is down in the garage filling holes and sanding the armoire which had to be taken apart so we could move it out of the old house. It is surprising how much built in furniture we had. We were able to have some thing things rebuilt, but even those didn't leave their rightful spot without a struggle, i.e. the wall that fell down when the headboard to our bed was removed. Many other things were left behind in their rightful place.

It is interesting to me the ways in which different people approach moving. I'm surprised at the number of people who have told me they don't want to take any of the old furniture to a new house. Ii's fun to buy new stuff, but it also makes the transition easier for me to find new places for some of the the old stuff. Especially my bed and some favorite pictures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.