Juvenile Tuturiwhatu

This morning I chose the right time to go down the steps to Southend of Snells Beach. The Kuaka flock was there, and so of course were the white-faced herons. I was delighted to see at least seven Tuturiwhatu (New Zealand Dotterel). I say at least because there were undoubtedly seven birds in the group I saw first. Later after I had walked away and come back there were two by themselves well away from where the original group were. So maybe they were additional birds, although most likely the group had separated a wee bit.

I think that this is a juvenile bird, as it has a mostly white face, and more white on the wing feathers than an adult. As the female lays only 2-3 eggs, a large family group would be two parents and three young birds. That makes it probable that there were at least two family groups. That cheers me as my bird book indicates that they are "threatened". It would be good to think that there were at least three juvenile birds amongst those that I saw.

I have added as an extra a quick shot I took of a poaka (Pied stilt) flying past the Kuaka to land nearer the rocks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.