NellieD

By NellieD

Can you adult?

So I had my first interview today and it was the strangest experience ever!

When I arrived I was shown to a room and asked to complete a form which contained lots of standard interview questions; why do you want the job, what are your best qualities, what experience do I bring to the role ...

With only enough space to add one sentence, I filled it out as best as I could but it's hard to convey very much in one line. The boss came in, said I had been given the wrong form and then went out to shout at someone. 

He read the form (which took 2 minutes) and then asked me if I had any questions to add. I asked if I could expand on the questions to give more context and examples and he said it didn't matter. After a brief chat about the amount of new builds in Manchester and the cost of fees charged by the recruitment agency, he said he would be in touch about going in for a couple of hours as a trial to see how I fit in the workplace.

I spoke to the agency and explained how I hadn't been asked anything at all and how he couldn't possibly have gleaned any useful information from the non-interview interview. With all that in mind and the fact he told me the role was only a part PA role where previous PA experience was 'desirable', I told them to politely decline any follow up! I firmly believe my 17 years experience as a PA to the CEO will be best valued elsewhere.

Crochet club ensured the day wasn't completely wasted and I smiled when I arrived to see the billboard outside our venue.

Quote for today:
Know your worth.
Know the difference between what you're getting and what you deserve.
- Unknown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.