Furry Lisa (actually it's Susie!)

I picked this Stephen Fry book up in the library the other day, just a random choice, thinking that it might be hard going.

Absolutely not! It's one of the funniest books I've ever read and I'm only a third of the way through! I rarely laugh when I'm on my own, but find myself chuckling all the time! 

It's full of history and musical facts about the birth and development of classical music, filled with hilarious allusions and terrible jokes! Lovely subtitles like 'Machaut must go on',  'I'd love to teach the world to sing in perfect monody' and 'Platonic solfa'. Jokes such as the story of Mozart's first love, who didn't return his affection. He moved on to her sister and they 'got on like a Strauss on fire'! He tells of Mozart's financial problems, though 'he managed to keep the Wolfgang from the door'! 

OK, maybe it wouldn't appeal to everyone, but I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone with a warped sense of humour! Debussy, btw, was asleep and doesn't come into the story. Unless to stress, as all musicians know, that practice makes purrfect!

Sorry about the twisted humour, it's CATching!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.