The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Should Have Kept My Mouth Shut

Back home in Tonyrefail, and I am running out of steam! It's been a long old day.

We were up early to say goodbye to Dawn's mum before she went to work, and of course to have one of Dawn's dad's amazing breakfasts. It always sets us up right for the journey back.

We were worried about the weather coming home, as there was freezing fog forecast, and we had a nightmare journey back last year in similar.

We said goodbye to Dawn's brother, Richard, and his rather lovely Estonian girlfriend, Doris. I know how daunting it was when I first went up to Lincolnshire with Dawn, the language barrier must have added to that too, but she started coming out of her shell over the past day. I think it might have helped that Dawn's niece thought she was brilliant, and played with her all weekend.

We had to leave early, as Dawn was starting her shift at Marks and Sparks at 6pm. Our SatNav said we had plenty of time to get home, ETA 1545hrs.

By the time we had reached the Motorway section of the jounrey we had knocked 15 minutes off that. I made the comment on what good time we were making without really trying! I should have kept my mouth shut! What we didn't bank on was the M6 being shut for the second time this year. There was a massive lorry fire, and we had to come off the junction after we came on. This is where a SatNav becomes redundant. All it wants to do is send you back onto the motorway. I had no idea where I was going. So we decided to head for Coventry. Never driven through there before, not too keen to do it again! The road system was designed by a madman. We got lost twice, and by the time we rejoined the M42 at the Birmingham NEC our ETA had gone from 1530hrs to 1630hrs! Sooooo frustrating!!

The rest of the journey was as uneventful as the beginning, and we managed to get home just before 5pm after popping in to see how dad was. He seems a lot better, and is far more mobile.

I've got to get my Christmas shopping on the go tomorrow, the big day is hurtling towards us, and we are no where near ready!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.