Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Hunt

Picked up some great shots today. I really wanted to put up another shot of the hyllus G, but it has only been four days since the last one, so I resisted. Instead I chose this shot of a tiny mantis hunting a fly. This species of mantis is new to my journal. Hopefully I can come back later with an ID, not that it matters!

The two were about 4cm apart, so to tell the story in the image, I did a stack of two shots. Now you can see what the mantis was thinking about, also the size of the mantis is now apparent.

This fly actually escaped, but about a minute after this shot was taken, the mantis was chewing on another fly, a lot smaller.

I don't see this particular species of mantis very often and I was hoping to find an adult one day for its debut, but all I ever find is juveniles. Still, I really like this juxtawotsits and hoping you like it too.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.