Hairy?

We often have Downy Woodpeckers visiting our BarkButter feeders. They most likely nest nearby and last season they brought their recently fledged babes to the feeders. So I'm very familiar with their appearance. This morning I noticed a small black & white woodpecker on our seed feeders. I thought it unusual since I seldom see DWs on those feeders. This one never bothered even checking out the BarkButter buffet. I also noticed that this bird was a little larger than our Downy Woodpeckers. It also has a longer bill than a DW. Longer story short...I believe that I have correctly identified it as a Hairy Woodpecker, a bird which although seen in our area is considered 'uncommon'. As it eventually flew off I noticed that it was joined by another similar-looking bird. I'd love for them to make their home and raise a family here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.