The last rites of winter

This blip comes courtesy of Mr A, who was sitting in the window seat. We were leaving rather later than scheduled. Of course, if we'd known there were going to be delays at Schiphol which meant we were nearly 90 minutes late taking off, we could have had longer in bed this morning. As it was, we were up at 4.15am local time (so that's 2.15am UK time) to get our taxi.

The de-icing process was pretty perfunctory. Basically, it wasn't really freezing this morning. And it looked like a pleasant sunny morning as we left. Foggy/misty in Schiphol, which had caused the delay, and a further "holding pattern" before we arrived. It looked like quite weird weather as we came in to land, although I couldn't really see from the aisle seat. We were very lucky as I had booked us aisle and window, and nobody came to sit between us. It was a pretty full flight, but perhaps not as full as we expected. None the less, they took my bag off me for free alongside the other checked in bag, so I was less encumbered travelling home than travelling out.

The flight from Schiphol to Edinburgh was slightly delayed, but we were home about 2.30pm, so just over 12 hours after we were rudely awakened by the alarm in Helsinki. Now I've done my backblipping (starts here), I'll probably start looking enviously at the clock. It won't be a late one, although there's a small piece of work I need to do before I go to bed.

Oh, and I got very maudlin' as we arrived in Edinburgh. My last time through passport control as an EU citizen, as things stand. Mr A's last time (for now) as an EU citizen (and the last time with this passport that will be replaced on Saturday at stupid expense to deal with these ridiculous issues) (although he may return as an EU citizen later... watch this space). What a bloody waste.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.