Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Nettle-eater...

Hellishly busy at the moment - but I did manage a two hour morning dog walk through a frosty winter wonderland. It was -4.5C when Rosie and I arrived at Ferry Meadows and only -1.5C when we left! So many photo opportunites, and a stack of images that I would have been happy to blip. But in the end I couldn't resist this female reed-bunting, tucking into a breakfast of nettle seeds, which were still covered in frost crystals. Probably not the most spectacular of my images, but the most interesting. I may try and upload some other images from the walk into my Blipfolio.

In the evening we had our local wildlife group Christmas event. Pete made mulled wine and apple juice, and I provided a photo-quiz of local reserves and wildlife. This was designed to show people how many wonderful sites there are within ten miles of Peterborough city centre, and certainly seemed to achieve that objective. There was a small prize for the winner, which rather embarassingly was Chris (my eldest son). He offered to forgo the bottle of wine as it looked a bit like nepotism, but as he hadn't seen the pictures before, everyone felt he deserved to win!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.