The Crown

In addition to sorting our a few things for my mother's interment service tomorrow, I finished off preparing for an evening of alternative judging at a local camera club. For once it was a short journey and, as I was sort of in the right direction, I continued on to Berkhamsted to join a few choir people in a the Crown. Thursday is rehearsal night but I am not singing this term as we will be away for the concert. I've missed the sociable post practice drink so took advantage this evening to catch up with a few.

The judging was 'interesting'. The members actually do the voting. The results have been decided ahead of the evening. I was invited to talk about Abstract photography (that was the competition theme) and then critique a selection of images. Had I been asked to select the top images I doubt any would have been the same as the voted winners. It was a typical example of voting for what they liked rather than what has photographic merit. So as a qualified and experienced judge I had no influence at all on the actual outcome.

Although I enjoyed the evening and the club was receptive and appreciative, I would not do it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.