Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Cow!

... or, more accurately,

Roast Longhorn/Aberdeen Angus X Meadow Beef

My photograph shows my plate before it had become cluttered with potatoes, parsnips, brussels sprous and carrots.

I appreciate that my picture may not be suitable for vegetarians. All I can say is that, to my certain knowledge, these magnificent beasts are exceptionally well looked after while they live in our Meadows.

The occasion for our indulgence was our Rent Audit Dinner. As I explained in 2010, the Dinner is held annually to entertain those of our tenant farmers who can get here to a warming Christmas meal. In past times, the tenants brought their rents with them to hand over, which might have needed a journey lasting days on horseback.

Our menu shows in more detail what we were served. The Ch Chasse-Spleen 2000 was an excellent accompaniment to the succulent beef. Although vegetarian ('V') and non-beef ('NB') options are offered, they get few takers when the farmers visit!

I had initially intended to show a photograph of the great joint being carved, but I was engrossed in conversation with one of my neighbours at the critical moment. Instead, I took some pictures of the 'production line', where the beef and Yorkshire puddings were being plated up, as I thought that it made an unusual shot. But then I realised that I had shown something very similar last year, which is why I chose the food itself for today's submission.

In the hope of giving some idea of the jolly atmosphere of this nice occasion, I am showing here a photograph of one corner of our Hall. This is one of six tables filled with the farmers, their spouses, and the hosts. When I took this picture, it was still light outside, but when we finally stood up after eating, it was dark, and the rain was sheeting down. Perhaps I should have stayed inside and drunk some more of the excellent port...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.