A Swan in Waiting

It’s exactly a year to the day that His Lordship and I trundled our overnight cases to the Peebles bus for a two night stay in the Hydro with the weather being exactly the same as today, rain and sleet.
In fact it was so bad that the next day we felt that hardy explorers just going for a walk and by the time we left after the two nights, there was thick snow on the road home.
I actually had booked to go to Peebles overnight today but cancelled when I knew Robynn was coming to stay. How glad I am, or it would have been a repeat scenario.

Instead, I escaped the weather to met up with two friends in a house overlooking this pond at Craiglockhart where the swan appeared to have the nest ready to be filled.

Later in the afternoon I braved the weather yet again to meet up with another school friend who has come down to Edinburgh from North Ronaldsay for a visit. We haven’t met up for about 4 years when we took a ferry from Kirkwall to North Ronaldsay, which is the most remote island in Orkney and is famous for its seaweed eating sheep. I am full of admiration for her and her husband who have brought up 4 gifted children now scattered throughout the UK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.