Odofuran

By Odofuran

Energy above

When I moved to Japan, there was a different feeling walking around the streets. Even after I got used to everything else that was different, there still seemed to be something different about the towns that made it feel more closed in. After about two years, I realized that it was all the cables for electricity and the like were above ground.

Three-and-a-half years here, and it's these little differences that are all I can think about. Whenever someone asks me what's different between Japan and America, I can only think of the boring details. But really, that's what life is. I find the big events fade in brightness as I go, but the everyday activities with my friends grow stronger in my memory, both for my time in Japan, and what came before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.