The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Winter Flowers

Yesterday CadiT, who is taking part in a challenge, mentioned that it is hard to find flowers at this time of year in the UK. Today I noticed these little flowers in Lower Street, as I do most days, and so I climbed into a community flowerbed to blip them in macro.
I Wish I knew what they are called.

Today was party day at special school: a panto was taking place when I arrived, and I left just before Santa's landing at 3pm. As well as my usual duties, I was 'allowed' to have lunch, which I don't normally do, and it was a school-dinner Christmas lunch! For reasons that I have not fathomed, the top table which we were sitting next to, was occupied by the headteacher, plus no less than four priests! I got a fit of the giggles as I recalled Father Ted, the Tv series. It's one of my favourites, possibly because I grew up in Ireland, the country of priests, and because it has a surreal quality that seems entirely normal to me.

After lunch there was some "entertainment by staff". As I am part-time I don't usually get asked to be involved in anything, which I find sad. But I did take part in the signing choir, in which hardly anyone can sing OR sign! Later, there were other sketches and dances. One of the older boys has an obsession with Eddie Stobart trucks, and the staff in his class had dug up a song by the Wurzels called "I want to be an Eddie Stobart Driver" which they mimed along to in hi-vis jackets, with the students sitting up on stage in their wheelchairs, and some brave soul being pushed up and down the ramp to the stage in a mobility scooter disguised as an Eddie Stobart bus! After the curtain fell, "Eddie the bus" remained stuck on the ramp...

When I came home, I was surprised to find a package containing a CD of Klezmer music. Two clients, to whom I supply my hand blended anti-inflammatory lotion by mail order, run a shop that sells stringed instruments. It turns out that they play Klezmer, and had sent me their latest album because they said the lotion had helped so much in the making of it!
Every day brings new orders at the moment: for face cream, lotions, blended oils, room sprays, and so on. I am rushing to make them and get them all out, but as soon as I finish one lot, a new order comes in. I shouldn't find this amazing, but I do, because I haven't run a stall for two years, and I don't have a website! Not that I am complaining, but I am beginning to see the point of having at least a basic website that could announce a "last date for pre-Christmas orders".

Three more half-days of special school for me; two massages; and a partridge in a pear tree an aromatherapy class for recovering addicts. After all of that is done, I am going to challenge Father Jack to a drinking contest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.