An Old Locket

My paternal grandpa passed away in 1965--I was 14. He was a quiet, patient man who worked at the same job for 40 years. He liked to hunt & fish, and he liked to smoke a pipe. When I was growing up, my brothers & I spent our summer vacations running wild at my grandparents cottage in Northern Wisconsin, spending the days swimming, rowing the boat around the lake, fishing, and running up the hill to our Great Aunt and Uncle's cottage to grab some of her delicious homemade cookies that she always had laid out for us. In all those years I never heard my grandpa raise  his voice; in fact, I once asked my dad if grandpa had ever yelled at he or his brothers. He said his dad didn't need to yell, because he had a certain look he'd give them that made them "tow the line" right away.  After he died, my grandma wore this locket with grandpa's picture in it most every day. She outlived him by 27 years, and when she died my dad gave it to me. So that's my TinyTuesday202 "memory", & I'm looking forward to reading about all of YOUR TT memories! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.