Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Birthstones

My mother's birthday was September 20th.  When she met my dad in 1936, one of the first things they found out about each other was that they had the same birthday, my dad in 1917 and my mom in 1918.  Then, 18 years later, I was born....on their birthday!  Every year we had a huge celebration for our birthdays.  I still celebrate them on my birthday!

My mother loved little bells and this was one of her collection.  The ring was her "Mother's Ring".  The two sapphires are for my brother's and my September birthdays and the garnet is for my sister's January birthday.  So, it is now my "Siblings Ring".   Many thanks to dfb24 for hosting TinyTuesdays this month and for today's theme of memories.

I am grateful to have spent 39 birthdays with both my parents and then 10 more with my dad.  Since then, they have still been with me in my wonderful memories of them....but I always feel a little lonely on September 20th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.