horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Stick to the Shadows

Only two shots of note today, and went with this one because the bikes proved my salvation for the day. Feeling dreadful. Hot head, eyes, feeling sick, the works. I only went into work because I had a 9am meeting, and that wound up being cancelled. But the ride in was fine, the ride home was great, and then the ride to pick up the car from Mel's work, my first fixed wheel ride for a while, really got me going.

I had to get the car because as of this moment (8.30pm) Mel is still at work, in a meeting in town, so it's easier for me to collect the car from down Leith way, then pick her up later on. Being 'well trained' I've done the Thai sauce for the prawns with angel hair pasta for tonight, had myself some eggy bread to tide myself over (one of the benefits of having your own chickens), and figured I'd settle down to seek out some other salvation I spotted today while waiting for the call to play chauffeur.

It seems the answer could be to 'trypraying'. So here goes:

Dear God, do you mind if I call you God? It's rather impersonal really. Would Allah or Jehova do? I mean, the devil's got a load of cool pseudonyms, it only seems right that you should too. Although the capital 'G' of God suggests it might actually be your name, which is a remarkable coincidence given you ARE a god. Sorry. THE God. Or is that god? Noun or name?

Anyway, I'm rusty at this so I must apologise, but I've been watching celebrities so I think I know how this works. First off, thanks for everything that's right in my life. It's really super that you've seen fit to let me off (so far) without any serious illness, and with all my limbs (more or less) intact. I don't know what those people with cancer and horrible disabilities did wrong, but it must have been REALLY bad for you to do that to them (or do you just let it happen?). Anyway, I'm glad you're not a vengeful god (or God?) like those pretend gods that the likes of the Greeks and Romans had. How they could believe in that nonsense for so long (longer, in fact, than people have believed in you, imagine that!) just beggars belief, if you'll pardon the pun.

Anyway, where was I? Oh yes, could I possibly request a smiting? Or at the very least maybe a feeling like a really bad Chinese burn on someone? That would be great. Just give me some sort of sign, but something maybe definite rather than a cryptic 'face of Mary' in a tortilla, and I'll fire the name up to you.

Ta muchly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.