The only way is up...

or actually if I turned 180 degrees you could go that way too.

the is the escalators of the pedestrian tunnel that crosses under the river Tyne between Howdon and Jarrow (land of my Birth)
I've used this Tunnel probably since the very early 1970's when I remember going with my Dad on a Sunday afternoon to the Wallsend Boys centre where he and his Post Office (now BT) colleagues played 5 a side footy, it more a case of kicking lumps out of each other.
The Tunnel carries pedestrian and cycle traffic and was opened in 1951 and is due a refurbishment, I thought that I'd get a few pics for old times sake.

They are here sadly the escalators don't work and they were once the longest in Europe, if not the world.

In fact they were nearly the death of me tonight as I tried to relive my youth and run up them, I can still feel it in my legs some three hours later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.