Paladian

By Paladian

Racy!!

.....And in broad daylight too.

I know this blip isn't up to Vodkaman's standards, but my excuse is that I am very new to dragon blips and I need all the practice I can get.

This is a Blue Skimmer Dragonfly - Orthetrum caledonicum, very beautiful, and very nicely behaved. They fly around for a while and then return to the same spot for a breather before shooting off again. The larvae eat mosquito larvae (yes!!), and the adults eat flying insects, such as mossies. There should be more of this darling little critter, definitely a friendly bug.

However, I was really startled to see these two at it down at the Creek at lunch time. They were flying around and settled very briefly on a stem, before taking off again. I only had time for two quick images, and certainly no time to fart around with camera settings. Luckily the Rower had suggested which I should use ahead of time, otherwise I would have been completely stonkered.

I sat down at the water's edge for a while, but golly it was hot in the sun, and they didn't come back again anyway. There were too many bees in my opinion. It's easy to see how these feral honey bees adversely affect the native bee population.

More flexability.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.