GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

Máire

It was so special to see my grandmother, Máire, who is 92 years old.

My Granny is such an inspirational woman. She highly values education and has always encouraged each of her nine grandchildren as we travel on our different paths. Until recently, she was an avid reader and read at least one book a week. She went back to university in the '90s and earned a diploma in Women's Studies. After my grandfather died, she learned to drive although she was in her late 70s and got her driving licence at 80. She has a wicked sense of humour, and we always have a giggle together about how she can't tell me her gossip because I'm "too young".

Every time I leave Cork, I find it so hard to say goodbye to her and, every time I come back, I am so happy to see her safe and well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.