The many faces of Rafa

Made a slow start to the day.  Watched a bit of TV and then walked to the Co-op.  Didn't really need anything but I wanted to have a walk.

Neil came this afternoon to stay for a couple of nights while his girlfriend is away in London.  She's staying with her sister and they were going to see Take That in concert. 

Around 6.20pm I got the bus to Newcastle - off to the match which had the silly kick off time of 7.45pm.  My least favoutire kick of time.  Far too late in the day.  Main difference to a 3 o'clock kick off is that a lot of fans turn up after having had rather too much to drink.  So the atmosphere is more raucous and there is more swearing.

Anyway 52,000 fans settled down at 7.45pm to watch Newcastle v Liverpool.  It was a crunch match for Liverpool in their bid to come  top of the premiership. Newcastle were determined in their efforts to prevent Liverpool from winning.  Liverpool scored first - then Newcastle equalised.  Liverpool scored again - Newcastle equalised.  But in the end Liverpool got a final goal and took the 3 points.  But at least Newcastle didn't make it easy for them - and looking back I do think Newcastle deserved to win.

One point to mention - after Liverpool scored their 3rd goal all sorts of trouble started up in the East Stand where I sit.  Police and stewards arrived and fans were being hauled out of their seats and ejected from the ground.  Meanwhile other fans were followning them and swearing and squaring up for a fight.  These following fans were shown back to their seats.  I guess the police didn't want them going outside of the ground as well in case fighting broke out.  I wasn't sure what was going on and when I got home I mentioned it to Neil.  He knew the story.  Apparently 100 or so Liverpool fans who couldn't get tickets in among the away supporters as that area was full then bought tickets for seats in among the home fans. ( this is against stadium rules ) They had managed to keep a lid on who they were ... until Liverpool's 3rd goal went in and they started cheering about it which is when the Newcastle fans around them " kicked off".  Never known that happen before.  It got rather " hairy" for a while.

As this was the last home match of the season the manager and team plus wives and children did a lap of honour after the match.  It was the quickest lap of honour ever due to the late hour - I guess all the little children really had to get home to bed as by the time the parade ended it was almost 10pm.  I always enjoy seeing the players parade round with their families.  And of course it might be the last time the fans will see some of the players as they may move to other clubs over the summer.

My main blip collage is of photos of the Newcastle manger Rafa Benitez.  " Rafa the Gaffa" as he is known.  The fans love him.  His future at the club is in doubt as he may leave due to the owner being " useless ".  I hope he stays. 

I took lots of shots during the parade.  None of them any good really as there were too many people in the way - or players were too far off.  But I have cobbled together the best of them.  One collage shows Matt Ritchie's little lad Baz running after his Daddy - and finally getting picked up.  The other is 3 silly out- takes.  And the third one is of the huge flag on display in the Gallowgate End before kick off.  Its the biggest flag they have had this season. 

I have tagged my blip for " Silly Saturday due to the kick off time being at " silly o'clock".  Thanks to admirerfor hosting.

I got my bus home without any bother and was in the house around 10.45pm.  Took a while to sorting through my photos so its a really late blip.  No time to make any comments - will catch up tomorrow.  Off to bed soon. Neil is in my bed so I'm on the sofa bed in the living room as usual when he visits. I don't mind - I quite enjoy it.

Steps today - 14,446

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.