Open your heart

Open your heart.
out real wide.
You might just find
a place to rest.
Open your eyes,
out real wide.
You might just see
what you've been looking for.
Open your mind,
out real wide.
You might just imagine
what you may just be.
Open your stride,
out real wide.
You might just reach
where your heart yearns to live.

In our world of infinite choice
that rips wide open
the heart of children
who virtually have no choice at all;
I am left to wonder of a star at night.
Did it really guide,
really shine so bright?

Did shepherds wonder,
wise men too,
did angels gather,
their voices so true.
The crib now lays empty
as vultures arrive,
their infinite taste
of death to survive.
I find my hope dimmed,
my thoughts laid out low,
as I think of my friend
who's health is on show.
Yet gather I do,
from deep in my soul
a reason to believe
that you will be whole,
for there in the sky
the stars do rejoice,
and I cannot doubt
they do it from choice.

A

X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.