Orientation

Today has been about finding my way a bit in a new place. 

As promised, my apartment is quiet, comfortable and well located. The plumbing and wiring are kind of “post Soviet”, but it all works. There is a noticeable slope in the bedroom floor. 

Breakfast involved 5 Lari (about £1.35) and a 100 metre walk. Ideal.

After tackling that wee challenge, I just turned right and went wherever my instinct took me. The cablecar across the Mtkvari and up to Narikala Citadel was a highlight. Good value at 2.5 Lari. 

From Narikala I meandered through the Botanical Garden. It was another highlight. Georgia’s unique climates mean it has many species (380) which are found nowhere else. The garden is a wonderful place to relax.  

People? Well locals are friendly. The older ones speak Russian as well as Georgian. The younger ones, English instead of Russian. Only 84% of locals are Georgian. The Abkhaz and South Ossetians have de facto seceded, with a bit of help from Russia. I believe you can visit Abkhazia but not South Ossetia. I am not going near either.  

The weather has been better today. Sunny and up to 25⁰c, but with a breeze so that walking about was pleasant. 

I keep trying to get my head around where I am. Grozny in Chechnya is 300km (185 miles) north, through the Caucusas. The Caspian Sea is 500km (310 miles) eastwards. The Black Sea is 300km west. Alaverdi in Armenia is only 120 km (75 miles) to the south. 

Food? I had acharuli xachapuri for lunch, but with a bean, walnut, coriander, garlic and onion (lobio) filling instead of the egg and cheese (see clip). I have quickly realised it is not a place to visit if you are watching your weight. Dinner will be something light. 

xachapuri

It is such a photogenic city, selecting a Blip and couple of Extras is not easy. For Blip I decided on Mshvidobis Khidi (Bridge of Peace). The Extras are a couple of views from the top of the cablecar, one of which includes the bridge, and one in the Botanic Garden. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.