PUTTING THE BOOT IN!

I was out early this morning, just after 6.30 a.m. because I wanted to record my last Street Challenge for the radio before going over there later - so decided that I would go up into Wood Street, which happens to be a one-way street, to have a wander round whilst doing the recording.

I didn’t realise, having been retired for 10 years, that the roads and pavements are cleaned very early in the morning!  The road sweeper drove along the pavement next to the car, then it turned and came up the other pavement, and from chatting to a man who came over to find out what I was doing with headphones on and a microphone in my hand, he told me that he saw this regularly and it would eventually drive up the road!

So I decided to go round the corner, only to find an air conditioning unit going full blast - but eventually found a little spot where it was relatively quiet and did the recording.

Then it was off to the Radio Station at 9.30 a.m. with all 26 recordings plus the introduction, when Shirley taught me how to put some music at the beginning and end, so that it would be ready to go out on air.  

Having done all this, I arrived home at about 1.15 p.m. and we had to be out within 5 minutes to go and see Mike, our Financial Adviser.  Thankfully, Mr. HCB had heard on the news that a cement lorry had overturned on the by-pass, so we were able to go another way, otherwise we could have been “stuck in cement” for a very long time!

Before our meeting, I noticed this football boot on the bookcase and felt a “Blip”  coming on.  I asked Mike if it was a football boot genuinely signed by Bobby Charlton, when he told us that he went to a Sports Dinner about eight years ago where it was an auction prize brought by Steve Kindon, who played football for Burnley.  Mike had bid for it at the auction, won the bid and thought he remembered paying about £100 for it - however, he was hopeful that one day it might be worth a lot more.  

For those who don’t know a lot about football, and that includes me, Bobby Charlton, or Sir Robert Charlton, to give him his proper title, is now 82 years old.  He is an English former footballer who played as a midfielder and is regarded as one of the greatest players of all time.  He was a member of the England team that won the 1966 FIFA World Cup, and scored 247 goals in 754 games over a 17 year playing career - so quite a player in his time, most of which he played for Manchester United, who colours are red and white, hence the red frame!

“I think he just epitomises Manchester United. 
     He was one of the best players there’s ever been 
          and he’s someone who is humble, 
               approachable and who oozes class. 
He’s a great person to know 
     and he’s someone who has inspired me 
          and helped me throughout my career.” 
Ryan Giggs

P.S.  Apologies that there may not be many comments this evening as I am out, but thank you for all your stars and lovely comments for yesterday’s Blip.  I am still enjoying the radio work and am wondering what to do for my next project - perhaps it’s time to think about that Alphabetical Pub Challenge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.