The Phoenix Rises

By sheilaM

The family Santa trip

The day I became Santa.

I had rashly offered to do the Xmas Santa run delivering family and presents all over Scotland. The weather was not kind and as the rain lashed down I picked up a nephew from a train station. He was great company and didn't mind being abandoned while I delivered the first Xmas pressie to Mo, in Dundee.

The next leg was to Big A and wee M's house in Carnoustie. We caught another nephew there and a cuppa. The gift exchange was done and off we "sped" northward through the very rainy Arbroath and "nearly flooded", Brechin. The road was a patchwork of hidden puddle depthsand potholes.

We arrived in Aberdeen and were diverted to quickly pick up a parcel at the post office depo, before it closed, for Mr.R. He then had to go back to his flat and finish packing.

We left him to it and headed to Curlyfries flat where he had to "finish packing" as well and I had to wash his dishes! We collected him and weighed down the car with his "stuff" and picked up Mr.R after washing his dishes.

Next leg was westward where we deposited the original nephew home, exchanging presents and ate a wonderful curry, made by Big D's, J. We needed to head homeward so off we drove into the rain and darkness.

Driving a road you don't know when it's pelting down and pitch black was challenging. The cold that was developing inside me didn't help. When we finally made it to the pass of Glenshee, the 3" of snow near the top had me beat for a wee while. It was white-out conditions and the tracks of other cars disappeared. We were well and truly on our own. It was only due to the winter tyres we had on ( and the superb driving skills of yours truly,(aherm) ) we got over the top and soon were driving on the black stuff again. It had the boys going for a while. I was of course cool as a cucumber (:-s).

Next was Big L's in Blairgowrie, where the pit stop saved my life and bladder.

The final leg was to home and the weather never let up all the way. Every corner was an adventure into the unknown of sub aqua driving and dodging traffic on the wrong side of the road.
By the time we got home my cold, the long day and the weather could not dim my delight, at having my wonderful boys home

Thanks for the effort, the company and the chat that kept me going through my Santa day, despite the dreaded virus starting. Thank you all.

XS.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.