I don't usually need to explain...

... my blips. But, in this case, I think there is a story to tell.

We decided to pay a visit to Harrogate's famous Bettys Tea Rooms for a light lunch - in the week of their centenary celebrations.

As soon as we were seated, I spotted a large silver bowl, used as an over-sized ice bucket on the counter, near our table. The multiple reflections looked like a possible photo opportunity.

Besides the distortions caused by the curved surface (for example the rather enlarged head of the person holding the camera - which can't possibly be me!), the pedestrians passing the window have large heads and tiny bodies - some with reflections above them). 

The other effect is the very wide angle of view of the buildings and roads .

Throughout our meal, I kept taking further shots to make sure I had a choice. But the blip is the very first shot, selected largely because of the bright red jacket on the left of the picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.