Ausmossie

By ausmossie

Workers

Just a normal day here in China. My Christmassy effort extended to buying small chocolates for the other teachers and the students in my classes tonight.

Terri gave me a wonderful gift yesterday. It was wonderful of her to think that Christmas is so important. It was small but worth the world to me.

I talked with most of my family today via Skype, then ventured to school. I actually had been given the day off but decided to be around people and my kids. I was sitting in the teachers room and on one of the rare occasions I have my laptop at school I decided to play some music. I chose John Denver singing Silent Night and the tears came. I really miss my family today. Of course I had Terri and my Chinese family ( the people from work) and got choked when some of my students said "Merry Christmas" and I knew it came from their hearts but my siblings and children seemed so very very far away...

I'm not too sad really. I have made my choice to work here and accept that there are occasions where I would rather be home.

These guys were digging up the road. It seemed that most of what they were picking was ice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.