Marsupium Photography

By magi

20, Duncan St

I have always been fascinated by this building in Newington. It currently houses a garage but before then a horse bazaar. I've planned to take a panorama shot of the building for ages. This morning in my twitter feed I find the news that there is a plan to turn the building into yet more student accommodation. Don't get me wrong, students have to live somewhere. However, it seems quite clear that you can get most money out of student accommodation. You can pack more students into a given space than families and you get to charge per room. This and hotels take away much needed space from families and other people. I think the council should be able to provide high-quality, affordable housing for everyone. This way locals would benefit and the council would have an income.

The image consists of 27 individual images stitched together using hugin on a rectilinear projection, hence the obviously distorted car. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.