Product placement, or A tale of two teezers.

Recently, one of the B.B.C. Radio 2 presenters started asking folk to tell of their Christmas traditions.
e.g. One family said they march around the kitchen banging pot and pans, to the rhythm of, and accompanying the singing of "Jingle bells", to let Santa know they are at home. Another presenter told us Jingle bells was
A) Written by a Jewish gent ...So what?
B) Actually written for Thanksgiving, with a different title.

You tend to hear old folk willing to tell any-one who'll listen that "Times were hard, in them days.", "We didn't get a lot for Christmas in those days.", etc.etc.

I don't remember that.
I do remember that "Our lad" and myself always got a box of Maltesers© (Other funny food is available).

When I got married 30yrs ago(ish) ...
1st year ... No Maltesers ... :¬((
Mam thought Al would get them, Al thought Mam would continue the tradition.

AAAAaaaaaargh!

2nd year ... Two boxes ... :¬))

The tradition holds good, but I only ever got the two boxes once.
I broke with tradition this year inasmuch as there were at least half a dozen left by lunch-time. I must be getting old (er).

Merry Christmas to both my readers: Feliz Navidad "an sek like", und so weiter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.