Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

First

It's the first of June, the seventh anniversary of Damon's murder, and so I travelled to Forest Hill to meet V, Damon's mum, at the Horniman Gardens where a Little Tree has been planted in his memory.
Weather was good so traffic was bad. I travelled by train and so I arrived first, but not by very long. We sat in the sunshine beneath the little tree, me, V, JtGP, and Lexi the Chihuahua.

Having paid our respects and recovered from our journeys, we ventured forth to the Richard the First in Greenwich, known locally as the Tolly. The pub has changed a little since I was last there, but has not suffered the total transformation of so many traditional pubs. The interior and clientele are much as they used to be, a little less sitting, drinking and smoking, a little more dining. The greatest change was the staff, young, chic and oh-so respectful. It still gets five stars from me!

I remember going there to join Spouse and his cricket team post-match on his 40th birthday, 25 years ago. I remember what I wore. I don't remember which team won the match however.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.