High Austby

The board game session last night was fun. My two sons, normally unbeatable at Pictionary, were narrowly defeated in controversial circumstances, but as they were playing against a team of three I think they can claim a moral victory. They have a secret weapon when it comes to this game, usually wielded on the open rounds. It's akin to a private language. They invoke scenes from episodes of Friends. An example last night, if I can remember correctly, was "in the episode where Phoebe, Rachel and Monica were all dressed in a certain way, what did Monica throw"? The answer, instantly offered, was "bouquet". Their knowledge is so encyclopaedic that it seems like almost every word can be formulated in this kind of way. Should I be worried? I guess the good thing is that they will have vicariously experienced every single relationship issue that they are ever likely to encounter in real life. Perhaps it will serve to prepare them well. I'm hoping so. Or am I clutching at straws?

It's been a very mellow day here. I've experienced a break with tradition because I normally run the Chevin Chase on Boxing Day, but I failed to get my entry in right away and the event filled up almost immediately. Instead, I went out on the bike and actually managed to catch a few minutes of sunshine, although there wasn't much of it on a day which started wet and windy and is now finishing very wet, but did offer a few hours of dry weather in the middle. I cycled to Burnsall on my normal loop and reminded myself how much I love riding the bike. But I need to get fit to enjoy my cycling to the full. I was struggling for power on the hills today. I need to sort out a focus for some serious training.

I've spent a very enjoyable few hours catching up with people here, but that session has made me realise just how many blippers I've got to know! I've only scratched the surface. It's a case of blip and run now because I've got dinner to cook and I'm planning to try a recipe that I thoroughly enjoyed when cooked by friends A & K & L when I was last over in Ireland with TJ: Barley Risotto with marinated feta out of Yotam Ottolenghi's Jerusalem. I'll let you know how it goes.

This shot shows a view looking back towards Ilkley from Nesfield over the fields around High Austby. It gives you an idea of how the town is nestled right under the moor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.