My blip-years

By Silverace

A rare beast

When I dropped off the eldest one this morning (in our green bonsai, right of the photo) we spotted this rare beast.
I immediately recognised it as a Carver One, of which approximately 200 units have been build in the early 2000’s by the Dutch VandenBrink automotive company.

It banks to the left and right to corner, very similar to a motorcycle, but the rear axle stays planted on the road via an ingenious dynamic vehicle control system. When Top Gear featured it in 2002, the driving experience was referred to as ‘the most fun you can have’.

It’s production plant was located not too far from my office back then, so I saw some in the wild, but haven’t spotted one for at least 10 years. The company still exist and is currently developing a flying car based on this Carver One, which they will call the PAL-V for Personal Air and Land Vehicle. The car I spotted was carrying advertisement for the flying car...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.