Cathedral...

When someone says "They don't build them like that these days." York minster cathedral is one of those things. We saw it from the outside the other day but I quickly nipped in to get this cliched shot. The outside is very, very, impressive but when you get inside...

Absolutely awe-inspiring. The amount of caverous space is absolutely stunning. I don't think this picture does it an ounce of justice and the amount of work and detail that is contained within it is mind-boggling.

Religion doesn't do that much for me but this sort of thing as a by-product is stunning.

------------------------------------------------------

Notes on the Picture(The photo geek section)
This is my best attempt at an HDR image so far. The last couple of ones I've done, I've just saved different exposures from the same RAW image. For this one I used the camera's exposure bracketing to take 3 separate photos 2 steps apart.

I've seen a couple of HDR images done using the inside of cathedrals. It's a good scene to highlight the process because of the low and high exposure details in it but I still have an HDR itch because I didn't have to do an awful amount to the picture.

I have wee mess abouts with some of the settings but I don't think I could find any other ways of representing it through settings that gave a much better effect than the default tone-mapped image the software gave me. The only thing really did was to raise the colour temperature very slightly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.