Growing Up

This is Nina admiring her newly pierced ears. At 11, she is a year younger than her mother was allowed to have the procedure, but times have changed in the intervening 30years.

I had my ears pierced at 45 and that was only to accommodate my daughter’s earrings she made at Art College. I remember feeling really faint as the piercing gun did it’s business so never quite understood why my daughters were so keen on going through with the operation.

I’m not really an earring person so the holes are more or less closed up and it becomes something of a surgical operation to coax the bits of silver wire through my fleshy earlobes.

Without earrings, I spent a very enjoyable time at a garden party this afternoon to celebrate a friend’s husband’s 75th birthday. I may say that he made 75 look like the old 60. It was interesting to mingle with the great and the good of south Edinburgh, even though there were only one or two familiar faces.

Back home to a beautiful bouquet of white roses from neighbours, but therein lies another tale.........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.