rb231

By rb231

The Wasteland

This afternoon I took Charlie swimming. We went to the pool at Prestonpans for a change. The swimming pool was closed. On the way there I noticed a few cars had turned off the road at a point between where you leave the A1 heading north and where you reach a roundabout leading to Port Seton, Prestonpans or Longniddry. Today was a cold day and Charlie and I were only really dressed for a car journey, but we stopped and wandered off to see what was there.

I recall some kind of notice about proposals to build a new town between Tranent and Prestonpans and had imagined it to be located round about where we were this afternoon. I can see several arguments to support this choice of location, but in my mind there was one argument that raised a huge doubt as to its suitability; namely, a great big pond that had flooded over an old road at the northern edge of the site.

Charlie and I quickly became very cold and thought it best not to linger too long. I'll come back here soon, better attired, for a proper ramble.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.