Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Barbeque meisters

at the 16th annual Friends and Neighbors Picnic. Out of my comfort zone again. One day I might get satisfactory results.

     The day started with learning through a post on FB that my old Scoutmaster and village character, John Frank Levi "Skip" Papworth MBE, died. Besides Scouting, he was involved in Civil Defense, (back in the day), he wound the church clock after Charles Franklin could no longer climb the ladder, member of the church choir, window washer, played Father Christmas for the children, town crier, chimney sweep to bring good luck at weddings, and lollipop man. He worked for a local builder and was sometimes seen driving a JCB backhoe, sporting L plates, along the high street (back in the day).

       I read a good few pieces in Alasdair Gray's Of Me and Others  whilst I waited for the truck to be serviced. Rain showers on the way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.