The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Nothin' but blue skies?

Camilla drove us to the hospital this morning. Cheltenham General. We waited on hard slatted benches until the ward opened at 7.3O and the patients shuffled in, carrying their overnight bags. More waiting. I found a copy of BBC Countryfile among all the copies of Country Homes magazines. We studied the bird-identification chart, wondering if we'd see an Arctic Skua.

A nurse introduced herself and explained that all would become clear, eventually. I left poor starving Steve, because there wasn't much more I could do for him, and went back to Camilla and the car. We stopped for coffee in Leckhampton. So far, so odd.

I did hear from Steve that his hip replacement op would be at 2.30, and the nothing more till he texted to say he was back on the ward, feeling groggy. I have not rung because I want him to be able to rest. Back at home, I've been rearranging the furniture. We have a day bed now in the dining room. My card shop is in the living room. The floor is still a mess.

To distract myself, I went to a friend's house for lunch. She gave us a fabulous meal. However, I suffered a strange reaction to the pudding. My throat swelled up and I couldn't speak. It was most alarming, but a 'porridge' of chia seeds seemed to cure it, and I regained my voice. Phew.
I really hope it's not strawberries. They are THE taste of summer, and they're in everything. We shall see. Meanwhile, I'll carry the allergy tablets with me, just in case.

None of this feels particularly real. This shot is of the Bell Hotel (as was) with the Hill Paul building behind, shot from the canal towpath at Brewery bridge, Stroud, on my way back from my friend's house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.